Home https://server7.kproxy.com/servlet/redirect.srv/sruj/smyrwpoii/p2/ Entertainment https://server7.kproxy.com/servlet/redirect.srv/sruj/smyrwpoii/p2/ The prince’s estate releases the album ‘Welcome 2 America’ in July

The prince’s estate releases the album ‘Welcome 2 America’ in July

On July 30, Prince Estate and Sony’s Legacy Recordings release Prince’s “Welcome 2 America” ​​album, which was recorded in 2010 but never released. According to the announcement, the album is “a strong creative statement documenting Prince’s concerns, hopes and visions for a changing society that foresees an era of political division, disinformation and a renewed struggle for racial justice.” 60 Minutes “correspondent Jon Wertheim got a preview of the album as well as the story behind it for a report aired on Sunday on CBS; you can hear the title track below.

Shortly after the completion of the “Welcome 2 America”

; ​​album, Prince embarked on a tour of the same name that included several performances in several American cities, bordered by the historic “21 Nite Stand” at The Forum in Inglewood, California. The deluxe edition of “Welcome 2 America” ​​includes the complete studio vault album on both CD and black vinyl (accompanied by a high-resolution digital download) plus a never-before-released full concert video of Prince’s April 28, 2011 show on The Forum. All vinyl editions will have music on three sides with a collectible etching on the fourth side. In addition, there will be two special color variant vinyl editions of the album – gold vinyl available exclusively from the official Prince store and clear vinyl from Target.

As an accompanying collector’s single, fans have the option to pre-order a numbered, limited edition, gold-colored 7 “vinyl exclusively from the official Prince Store. 7” includes the studio version of “Welcome 2 America” ​​accompanied by a previously unreleased live version of the song recorded on May 14, 2011 on The Forum. The live version of “Welcome 2 America” ​​is performed in a medley with the Prince composition “Dreamer”, which was first released on 2009’s “Lotusflow3r”.

The live concert video shows Prince performing with his 2011 series New Power Generation, including Shelby J., Liv Warfield, Elisa Fiorillo and Morris Hayes, additional keyboardists Renato Neto and Cassandra O’Neal, bassist Ida Nielsen, drummer John Blackwell and dancers Maya and Nandy McClean (The Twinz).


Prince's unreleased album 'Welcome 2 America' debuts on July 30.  (Photo by Richard E. Aaron / Redferns)

The Prince’s unreleased album ‘Welcome 2 America’ debuts on July 30. (Photo by Richard E. Aaron / Redferns)

The show features covers of Bob Dylan’s “Make You Feel My Love” and Roxy Music’s “More Than This” along with Prince favorites, including “17 Days,” “Controversy,” “1999” and “Purple Rain.”

The deluxe edition of Welcome 2 America is presented as a luxurious gold foil package designed by GRAMMY-nominated artist Mathieu Bitton and GRAMMY-nominated creative director and Prince-associate Trevor Guy, complete with a 12 “x12” 32-page companion book and embossed velum envelope with exclusive ephemera from Welcome 2 America era (photographic art print, 23 “x36” poster, replica set list, ticket, VIP invitation and backstage pass)


Prince – Welcome 2 America

  1. Welcome 2 America
  2. Running Game (Son of a Slave Master)
  3. Born 2 Die
  4. 1000 light years from here
  5. Hot summer
  6. Stand up and B strong *
  7. Check the record
  8. Same page, second book
  9. When she comes
  10. 1010 (Rin Tin Tin)
  11. Yes
  12. One day we will all be free

* Soul Asylum cover


Prince – Welcome 2 America (Live at The Forum, April 28, 2011)

Concert Performance (Blu-Ray):

  1. Joy of repetition
  2. Brown skin (India.Arie cover)
  3. 17 days
  4. Shhh
  5. Controversy
  6. Theme from “Which Way is Up” (Stargard Cover)
  7. What have you been doing for me lately (Janet Jackson cover)
  8. Festmand
  9. Make You Feel My Love (Cover for Bob Dylan)
  10. Misty Blue (Eddy Arnold cover)
  11. Let’s go crazy
  12. Horror
  13. 1999
  14. Small red corvette
  15. Little rain
  16. The Bird (The Time cover – Prince composition)
  17. Jungle Love (The Time cover – Prince composition)
  18. A Love Bizarre (Sheila E. cover – Prince composition)
  19. Kiss
  20. Play That Funky Music (Wild Cherry cover)
  21. Inglewood Swinging (cover of Kool & the Gang’s “Hollywood Swinging”)
  22. Fantastic Voyage (Lakeside cover)
  23. More than this (Roxy Music cover)

Source link