A recent study says having books in the childhood home is even more important than previously thought! Buzz60's TC Newman has more.

NEW YORK – Meg Medina, the latest recipient of the John Newbery Medal, wrote his award-winning children's book with a special intensity.

"There are so many negative characterizations these days of Latin American families and what it is to be immigrant," said Medina, a Cuban-American author whose "Merci Suarez Changes Gears" tells of an 11-year struggle, As she navigates between the worlds of her private elites and her extended latino family.

"This poisonous conversation about immigration and who is dangerous, and who are the Americans, absorbs all of us. I feel this enormous pressure to create a counter-rationale."

The Newbery Medal is given to "excellent contribution to children's literature". Sophie Blackall's "Hello Lighthouse", where the natural world is seen through the eyes of the lighthouse, received the Randolph Caldecott medal for the best picture book.

The prizes, this year's most anticipated in the children's book community, were announced Monday by the American Library Association.

This combination of book cover images shows Meg Medina's "Merci Suárez Changes Gears" from Candlewick Press, who won John Newbery Medal, back, Sophie Blackall's "Hello Lighthouse" by Little Brown and Company Books for Young Readers, who received the Randolph Caldecott Medal for Best Picture Story, Center and Claire Hartfield's "A Few Red Drops: Chicago Race Riot of 1919" by Clarion Books, who won the Coretta Scott King author award for African-American literature. (Candlewick Press / Little, Brown and Company / Clarion Books via AP) ORG XMIT: NEW135 (Photo: AP)

Claire Hartfields "A few red drops: Chicago Race Riot of 1919" won Coretta Scott The King Writer Award for African-American Literature while Ekua Holmes was awarded the King Illustrator Award. Elizabeth Acevedo's "The Poet X" winner last fall of the National Book Award for Youth Literature, received the Michael L. Printz Award for Best Young Adult Novel and the Pura Belpre Author Award for Latino Literature. The Belpre award for illustration went to Yuyi Morales for "Dreamers". Tara Westover's best-selling memoir "Educated" was among 10 winners of the Alex Award for adult works that appeal to teen readers.

Other prizes: Sigrid Nunez & # 39; The Friend & # 39; winner 2018 National Book Award for fiction

Last year's winners: Hi Universe & # 39; winner 2018 Newbery for best children's book

Medina, author of young adult middle class and picture books, has received numerous past awards. She won the Belpre author award in 2014 for "Yaqui Delgado will kick your ass" and an Ezra Jack Keats medal in 2012 for the best new author.

"All my work is centered on girls, latina girls and latino families – what it is to be a girl and to be a girl in a latino family," said Medina.

Blackall is an Australian born artist and illustrator whose other works include "Are you awake?", An adaptation of Aldous Huxley "The Crows of Pearblossom" and a collaboration with author Jacqueline Woodson, "Pecan Pie Baby."

Neil Gaiman received an honorary "Lecture Award" and MT Anderson Margaret A. Edwards Award for Lifetime Achievement. The late Walter Dean Myers won an inheritance award.


Show thumbnails

Show captions

Last SlideNext Slide

Read or Share this story: / life / books / 2019/01/28 / author-me-Medina-wins-Newbery-medal-sophie-Blackall-Caldecott / 2705712002 / [19659024]
Source link