قالب وردپرس درنا توس
Home https://server7.kproxy.com/servlet/redirect.srv/sruj/smyrwpoii/p2/ Science https://server7.kproxy.com/servlet/redirect.srv/sruj/smyrwpoii/p2/ Another asteroid will miss a perfect opportunity to hit the ground today, NASA says

Another asteroid will miss a perfect opportunity to hit the ground today, NASA says



An asteroid size of a tall building will pass by the ground at about 30,000 MPH today. Unfortunately, the closest thing is, it will affect about 3.6 million miles away before it travels through the earth and back into space without giving us the sweet release of global destruction.

According to NASA, 2013 MD8 (a Near Earth Object – NEO) flies around noon. 11:55 CT: "Tuesday, February 19, 2019 at 12:55 pm EST (2019-Feb-19 17:55 UTC), Near Earth Object (2013 MD8), between 38 and 86 meters (126 to 282 foot) in size, will pass the ground at 15.1 lunar distance, running 13.60 kilometers per second (30.418 miles per hour). "

3.6 million miles is a very long way to Earth standards, But astronomically, it is pretty damn close. Unfortunately, not close enough.

The asteroid, called 201

3 MD8, is quite a good size asteroid and would have fucked us pretty well if it hit us, but an asteroid should be at least one kilometer in diameter to cause death and destruction on a global scale.

Fortunately, the asteroids fly the earth all the time, so it's just a matter of time before you finally hit us and put everyone out of their misery. Astronomers know of more than 15,000 near-asteroids to date, but there are literally millions of unknown and unregistered rocks that have the potential to hit us.

The good news is that one day an asteroid will hit the ground and destroy us all. The bad news is that it will not happen in the coming weeks or even four years. But don't give up all hope, asteroids are really hard to find, we discover them all the time, and you can be on our way much faster than we think.


Source link