The Yankees hit four home runs on Saturday's 9-2 win over the Royals, but they almost had a fifth.
And even after the victory, Gleyber Torres and manager Aaron Boone were not convinced that Torres' fly ball to left in the bottom of the third – originally ruled a three-run homer – shouldn't have stayed that way.
"I thought it was a homer," Torres said. “I saw the video and I think [left fielder Alex Gordon] didn't have a chance to catch the ball, but I can control that. Just try to hit the ball [further] next time. ”
With two on and one out and the Yankees leading 2-0, hit a shot to left off Kansas City starting Heath Fillmyer. Gordon jumped at the fence and could not come up with the ball, as a fan reached over him and hit it. Torres rounded the bases, but the call was reviewed
After a lengthy delay, the call was reversed and Torres was ruled out, prompting a fiery reaction from Boone, who was tossed, but not before he sought an explanation from multiple umpires According to MLB, after viewing all relevant angles, the replay officially determined the spectator interfered with the ball over the field of play and interfered with the fielder's attempt to catch the ball. The fan was ejected.
He left the field to chants of "Aaron Boone," but the crowd soon fell silent, stunned by the sudden turn of events, and Clint Frazier popped out to first to end the inning with the Yankees up to just two runs.
Boone wasn't buying the explanation after the game.
"You can't go out and argue a review," Boone said after his first ejection of the season and fifth of his managerial career. “I totally understand it's not their call. I just wanted to let everyone know how bad of a call [by the replay official] I thought it was. You're taking a three-run homer off the board in that spot, which would have been a miracle catch in my eyes. I understand the call and I understand the ejection. I was pretty upset. ”
Torres appreciated his manager's response.
" Tried to help me, but we couldn't do anything, "Torres said. "It's the rule."
It was a tough day for Torres, who was also robbed of a single when Glenn Sparkman stabbed his hard comebacker in the fifth and was called out on a questionable check swing for a strikeout in the eighth.
There was more confusion, also in the top of the fourth.
On a 1
The count eventually went full, but Masahiro Tanaka got O'Hearn to hit into a double play.